Shut Up & Drive

California joins list of states with hands-free cell phone laws

As of midnight, California joined thirty-two other states by banning unlimited cellphone use in automobiles. The new rules prohibit drivers from holding cellphones to their ears while talking, and to take it a step further, bans drivers under the age of 18 from using any kind of mobile device while driving (even Bluetooth.) All drivers face the same “slap-on-the-wrist” style infraction if caught with the first offense being only $20, and $50 for additional convictions.

And Britney, if you’re reading, relax – we can’t figure out why, but texting while at the wheel is still legal.

Source: Autoblog


Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>